RSS Feed

Stir Crazy!

Posted on

It’s been almost a week since I last ran, and I’ve been over my “recovery” since before it started. I mean, what the hell kind of Viking do I think I am, if a twisted ankle has laid me up for a week? Sheesh.

Moping around the house or laying around with my leg iced and elevated is driving me batty.

I’ve been wearing pajamas for two days in a row and haven’t showered.

All I’ve been doing is drinking wine and eating chocolate.  And, figuring out new ways to complicate my life.

For example: why not start a new magazine?

I have a habit of not being able to be idle. For example, my decision to train for and run in the Prague marathon came right on the tail of the release of a book I edited and the subsequent book tour, which coincided with my wedding,

12/2/11 NYC

and was immediately followed by the year-end holidays. So, finally, January 2nd rolls around and you think I’d finally be able to relax and breathe, right?

January 2nd is the exact date I decided to begin training for the marathon. And not only that, I decide to write a blog about it because it’s not like the training itself is enough to do. But that’s me; that’s my life. I guess you could call me project-oriented. Or, you know,  high-strung and manic obsessive.

But let me tell you about my new magazine!

It’s called Ms.Fit (get it? like MISfit!), and it is (hopefully) going to launch on January 1, 2013. Currently, I am working on developing an ass-kicking roster of contributing writers and generating cool, fun, exciting content ideas. Here’s a link to the provisional blog page with more details. Check it out — I’d love to know what you think (and what you’d like to see in a feminist, queer-friendly health and fitness magazine).

And to be fair to myself, it’s an idea I’ve been stewing for at least a couple of years now. It just feels like now is the time to make it happen.

Gotta bolt now to go finish dinner (Jerusalem salad, peppers stuffed with dill rice, feta, spinach, and pine-nuts with a Mediterranean tomato sauce, and grilled zucchini with tzatziki), and watch the Bulls game.

Here is my recipe for tzatziki: get one small (individual serving size) of full fat or 2% fat Greek-style yogurt, 1 English cucumber (you know, the long, skinny ones wrapped in cellophane), a coupla cloves of garlic, some springs of fresh mint and/or dill and/or parsley, olive oil, a lemon, salt and fresh ground pepper.

First, peel about 1/2 of the cucumber and then finely shred it on a grater. With a clean kitchen towel, or a few layers of strong paper towels, squeeze out as much of the excess water as you can, and put the pulp in a medium-sized bowl. Open the yogurt and scoop it over the cucumber. Finely mince or press 2 cloves of garlic and add them to the mix. Finely chop the herbs and throw them in as well. Squeeze in about a teaspoon of lemon juice and then pour in about 2 teaspoons of olive oil. Add a few shakes of salt and a generous grind of fresh pepper. Mix this all together and let it sit in the fridge for at least four hours (you may have to give it another stir befor serving). Serve this with grilled vegetables or crusty french bread or on top of basmati dill rice, or just stand i nfront of the open fridge door and eat it with a spoon out of whatever container you are storing it in. Bon appetit!

Tomorrow I am going to try to run 3 miles. Wish me luck and happy ankles!

About lakathie

Literary lezzie and amateur health and fitness dabbler.

One response »

  1. I love Tzatziki. I will try your recipe. Also, be careful on your ankle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

