RSS Feed

I’m Leaving on a Jet Plane — Today!

Posted on

I am all packed and ready to go, and I leave for the airport in 3 1/2 hours.

I am packed to the hilt! The checked bag limit is 50 pounds. My suitcase weighs 49 pounds.

Among the other things a person might need for a two-month stay abroad, I have packed my running shoes, 4 goo packets, 2 pairs running shorts, 1 pair of 3/4 length running pants, 4 running shirts, 3 sports bras, and 3 pairs of running socks.

I’ve been watching Prague’s weather forecast for race day, and see that it is shifting according to my wishes from a 60% chance of rain to a 10% chance of rain. The high for the day is predicted, right now, to be 60 degrees with 7 mph wind. Yes, I can deal with this. Hopefully, this forecast will hold up!

 

I’m scheduled to arrive in Prague tomorrow afternoon. I imagine I will be sleepy, jet-lagged, and out of it, and I’ll probably just eat something, pickup a few groceries, and then crash.

Thursday will be my last run before the race. Two whole miles, just to get my legs loose. Nikki arrives in Prague on Friday morning, Saturday all of the students arrive (have I mentioned that the whole reason I am going to Prague in the first place is that I am faculty coordintator for a study abroad program for fiction writing students?), and the next day is race day!

The gun time is 9:00 a.m. which on one hand is mercifully not 7 a.m., but on the other hand, for slow runners like us, means that we’ll most likely still be running until 2 or 2:30 in the afternoon.

The course looks really fun. There will be live music played at several locations along the way. The worst thing about the course is that there are cobblestones at the beginning and the end, so I’ll be on painkle high alert.

6 days until race day. I am excited, yet? Yep.

I’ll close with a shout-out to Shayna Kramer — one of the first people who encouraged me that, if I trained right, I probably could run a marathon. She gave me these bits of advice for pre-race and raceday:

Race day running tips:
1. Put a quote on your running bib to empower you. (ex. “i have meet my hero, and she is me.”)
2. Become familiar with the race route. Find the race start. (I got lost once and got there 2 min before the start.) And know exactly where the finish is. …(I thought I was finished once and I wasn’t.)
3. Try to get a real good night sleep 2 days prior to the event. The night before you might not get as much sleep and that’s okay.
4. Dedicate a mile to a person who motivated you.
5. Drink at every hydration stop- it will help you way more than not.
6. Glide… everywhere (pits, cracks, thighs).
7. Wear as little as possible- your body raises at least 20 degrees.
8. Remember, there is no wall. What is everyone talking about.
9. Ice bath after!
10. This is your first race. Dont think about a goal time. Your only goal is to finish.

Any suggestions for inspirational quotes?

 

About lakathie

Literary lezzie and amateur health and fitness dabbler.

3 responses »

  1. Best of luck and have fun!

    Reply
  2. Have a great race and a great time – will be thinking of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

